What My Relationship with Ben and Jerry Can Teach You About Jesus {Holy (Cow) Week Day 2}


The other day, I stood in the ice cream aisle of the grocery store consulting with Ben and Jerry, when a young woman approached me.  I recognized her from my spin class.  She grabbed me by the shoulders, looked me square in the eyes, and whispered:  “I’m so glad to see you here.”

I returned her intensity with a puzzled: “huh?”

“The ice cream aisle,”  she explained in a strange hush.  Then, scanning the surrounding shoppers for paparazzi and secret service, she leaned in and whispered: “It’s so nice to know that you eat ice cream too.”  I stood stunned, while she reached for the Chubby Hubby and scurried away.

What a strange encounter.  Do people really believe that I never eat ice cream?

It finally occurred to me  that if all a person knew of me  was the 60 minutes they spent in a spin class, then they might assume all sorts of crazy things.  They might think I actually listen to Katy Perry . . . for fun.  They might believe I regularly break out in choruses of Cotton Eyed Joe . . . dance moves included.  They might even mull the idea that I believe a few is twenty-five and a couple is at least twelve.  If all a person knew of me was spandex clad and dripping in sweat, then ice cream might come as a huge contradiction.

Jesus, upon riding into Jerusalem, knew that He was days away from His death.  He truly had the opportunity to live as though He were dying and what He chose to do deserves attention.

He entered the temple and declared His anger with the money changers.  Why?  Because they misrepresented who He was.  They made it difficult to worship with impossible standards for sacrifices, exploited the seekers by undervaluing their first fruits, profited off  faith by leaving no other way to worship. If all a believer ever knew of God was that temple; then their understanding of Him would be upside down.  Jesus began to flip that understanding by overturning the tables.

He then spent His final hours fielding questions — each an opportunity to dispel the rumors and reveal the truth about Himself, and faith, and worship. His parables taught that the time had come for honest seekers, ready to follow.  He responded to probings with words  that separated religion from politics, redirected the focus of eternity from what you might lose to what you might gain, and  answered the most controversial of questions with love.  And then He turned to the men who had corrupted the His name and asked a question of His own.

What do you think about the Christ?

They were silent.

Jesus overturned to the tables to clear His name and to clear the way.  He was about to die for the sins of the world and rise again to numb the sting of death.  The ultimate sacrifice had come and the need for those tables were no more.  His only standard was love and He demonstrated it, He sought no profit but provided unlimited access, and He put the greatest value on seekers by offering Himself in their stead.

What do you think about the Christ?

The Pharisees refused to answer that question.  How about you?

What do you think about the Christ?
